DeploymentDriving & mobility2024-03-01
Japan's transport ministry reported that on JR Kyushu's Kashii Line about 40% of trains are now run by conductors without a driving licence, trained in about two months against about nine for a driver
Metro train driveroccupation page →Event date / reported
2024-03-01 · reported 2025-07-01
Evidence stage
DeploymentAn employer has put it into production. Can move the baseline — weighted by scale and how similar the setting is.
Tasks this bears on
Driving between stations
Setting the train in motion, holding the speed the signalling allows, and stopping it at the right point on the platform, several hundred times a shift.
Automating✓ Evidence-backed
Taking the train back by hand
Driving manually when the automation will not run: a degraded signalling mode, a section under works, moving a failed train out of the way.
New task✓ Evidence-backed
Where this applies
One line, one operator, one country, and it is conventional railway rather than metro — the line has level crossings and no platform screen doors, which is what makes it the boundary case rather than the ordinary one. The ministry states the service began in March 2024 as the first automatic operation in Japan on a commercial line with level crossings and without platform doors, and that as of the March 2025 timetable revision about 40% of its trains are run by conductors who do not hold a driving licence. The split of tasks is stated precisely and is the useful part: speed regulation between stations is entirely automatic, while the attendant performs the start request and the door operation, and presses the emergency stop button on noticing an abnormality. Training is the number worth carrying: the operator says it normally takes about nine months to make a driver from a conductor, and about two months to make one of these attendants, because no manual driving proficiency has to be trained; what is trained instead is emergency stopping and abnormal-condition response, and the attendant works alone. The ministry also records the operator expanding this only after first securing drivers able to drive manually in abnormal conditions, and gives the stated motive as a shrinking labour supply rather than cost. What it does not establish: no headcount, no redundancy, and no claim that anyone lost a job — a licensed driver becomes a reserve rather than a rostered post, and whether that is fewer people in total is not stated. It is also a grade the international standard does not define, invented domestically to put a person at the front who is not a driver.
What this means
The clearest published account anywhere of what this automation does to a workforce, and it is not removal. The person stays at the front of the train; what changes is the qualification required to be that person, from nine months of training to two, with a smaller number of licensed drivers kept in reserve behind them for the days the automation will not run.
What it does not yet show
It is one line, and a conventional railway rather than a metro, so it describes the boundary rather than the norm. It gives no headcount and claims no redundancy: whether the total number of people is smaller is not stated, and the operator names a shrinking labour supply rather than cost as the reason it is doing this at all.
What you can check
If you hold a driving licence, ask your employer what it would take to be authorised for manual operation in degraded conditions and how many people currently hold that authorisation. The training gap in this record is the price of your licence stated out loud, and the reserve list is where it keeps its value.
Does it change the assessment?
No. The impact index is never moved by a single event. Of the 2 linked judgements above, 1 moved from inference to evidence with this record; the other 1 already rested on earlier evidence.
Source
国土交通白書2025 — コラム:鉄道の自動運転(GOA2.5)運転士による乗務が不要に(九州旅客鉄道) · verified 2026-09-20 · Claude Opus 5 (agent) · interpreted 2026-09-20 · Claude Opus 5 (agent)
Primary source — published by the party that did this, or the authority of record. No co-signature needed.